Life Heroes

We all have people in our lives whom we look up to, ranging from family members, public figures and even to favorite bloggers. But have you ever come across someone and thought, “Wow, I’d really like to model my life to be just like theirs?” I have. Just within the past few years, I’ve come across some ladies so friggin’ impressive that I’ve now categorized them as my “Life Heroes.” They all inspire me to follow my dreams and reading about them not only brings on a sense of motivation but also extreme envy at times. These feelings go beyond the Girl Crushes of the past. These girls are my heroes because of how they use their brains and talents, not just their beauty. My new goal is to stop being envious and to start acting more like those who inspire me. In order to do so, let me first list the reasons I look up to my top four heroes:

Elizabeth Meriwether

Um, super adorable, right? Well, it gets better. She also graduated from Yale, produced and wrote on the film No Strings Attached and is Showrunner/CREA-TOR of my new favorite TV show New Girl on Fox. Oh, and did I mention she’s only 30? It’s not fair! I want to wear super cute nerd glasses and study at an Ivy League school! I went to the University of South Dakota! Is that even a real place, you might ask? Well, technically yes but it isn’t nearly as cool to say as Yale. Liz (as they call her) somehow got mad successful, mad-fast and it makes me so crazy, I want to scream! She even has her own little logo at the end of the credits AND IT’S PINK! Liz, you are my number one inspiration.

Mindy Kaling

You might recognize Mindy as the incredibly perky and hilarious side character named Kelly Kapoor on The Office. What you may not realize is that she’s also a producer and writer for the show, having joined the writers’ room at the age of 24 as the only female staff member. Since then, she’s gone on to direct the show and was Emmy nominated for writing the Jim and Pam wedding episode. Before that however, she was another smarty pants, graduating from Dartmouth and first hit the spotlight starring as Ben Affleck in the stage-play she also co-wrote “Matt & Ben.” This year, she released her first book, “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)” which hit the New York Times Bestseller list. I mean…what’s not to love about this girl? She’s the ultimate definition of “girly” but yet super badass and funny at the same time. If there is one girl on this list I would most like to hang out with for a day, Mindy definitely takes the cake.

Zooey Deschanel

I know, super unoriginal girl crush, but it would be disingenuous not to include her. This chick just makes me smile. I spent a good ten minutes simply deciding which photo I wanted to use for her. SHE’S JUST SO PRETTY! But she is also so funny she brings me to tears every week in her previously mentioned show New Girl. Not to mention, her singing voice is like an angel mixed with cookie dough. I listened to the She & Him Christmas album post-Christmas, which is usually against my holiday rules but I loved singing along to her chocolate milk voice so much, I couldn’t resist. Plus, she is friends with not only the ever-so-adorable Joseph Gordon-Levitt but my other hero Liz Meriwether. And don’t even get me started on my favorite new blog that she co-created and frequently posts on, Hello Giggles! Talk about a time suck! In a good way. Last but not least…her style. If there was ever anyone who could take on Rachel Berry from Glee in a gladiator-style, bloody dress-off, it would most definitely be the one and only Zooey.

Amanda Hocking

This is the ultimate fantasy, in more ways than one. Amanda is a 27 year old, self-published young-adult author who has made millions from selling her books online and never even had to leave the Midwest! I first read about Amanda when she was featured in the New York Times where they described her writing as “part quirky girl-like-Hocking characters, part breakneck pacing, part Hollywood-style action and part bodice-ripping romance – they are literature as candy, a mash-up of creativity and commerce.” She has numerous teen fantasy novel series that are deliciously page-turning and has become a millionaire all on her own. And the geek in me can’t help be envious of her shelves filled with figurines, comic characters and books and the walls in her Minnesota home which are painted purple, turquoise and magenta. I would love to live inside her mind and not just by reading the books. How awesome would it be to create such characters as the ones in the Trylle Trilogy, which has already been optioned to be made into a film? Take about an entrepreneur…

Now that I’ve listed why I admire them, I just need to figure out how I can create my own self into someone just as inspiring. At least I now have a blueprint.

Who are your Life Heroes?

This entry was posted in Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

